Grimsby, Ontario, is a beautiful town nestled between the shores of Lake Ontario and the cliffs of the Niagara Escarpment. Stately Victorian homes on tree lined streets with wonderful vistas of the surrounding vineyards make Grimsby a great destination to begin your journey exploring Niagara.
Grimsby is the western boundary for the Niagara Region, and although today many of the residents commute daily to the larger urban centres Grimsby began as a small farming community where the Forty Mile Creek empties into Lake Ontario.
At the time of the American Revolution the Niagara Region was becoming a refuge for United Empire Loyalists who were leaving their farms in New York and Pennsylvania to avoid persecution by the American military.
As more and more refugees arrived less land became available. Most of the prime farmlands around Newark (Niagara-on-the-Lake) had been deeded to members of Butler’s Rangers, as payment for fighting in the military.
In 1787 a group of UEL made their way west to the Forty Mile Creek where they settled and built a small community. It became known as The Forty. In 1816, the post office was established, and the settlement's name was officially changed to Grimsby.
In 1853, with the arrival of the railway and the ability for farmers to quickly transport their produce the town flourished. Many businesses such as canneries and basket making factories sprang up to service this new burgeoning fruit-growing industry.
Grimsby is home to Beamer Conservation area where visitors can get an excellent view of the town below, the Niagara Escarpment and Lake Ontario.