Jordan Ontario was originally settled by United Empire Loyalists in the late 1700’s. Many of these early settlers were of German descent and many were Mennonites. A small settlement along the banks of the Twenty Mile Creek became known as Glen Elgin.
Today the Jordan Historical Museum on the Twenty has done an excellent job of recreating life in rural Upper Canada in the early 1800’s. The Fry House, originally built in 1815 is a fine example of an early Pennsylvanian Mennonite homestead.
The museum also has a picnic area and a trail that takes hikers to the creek valley and to the village of Jordan. The museum is open to the public and admission to the museum and grounds are free although donations are appreciated.
Jacob, Peter and Thomas Ball, all lieutenants in Butlers Rangers were granted a large tract of land by the Crown south of the settlement of Glen Elgin where the Twenty cascades over a waterfall. The Ball brothers built a grist mill here.
Today the area is the home of the Balls Falls Conservation Area, where visitors can step back in time and see the homestead and gristmill built by the Ball family in the early 1800’s.
Another location within the village to enjoy the picturesque countryside and Twenty Creek and Valley is at Jordan Hollow. Here visitors can park, picnic and hike, and once again admission and parking are free!